Asia Continental Chess Championship 2010

Subic, Philippines, April 20-30

asia continental chess

For yet another year The Philippines Chess Federation is holding the Asia Continental Chess Championships. The 2010 edition of the competition is going to take place in Subic, April 20-30 and the opening ceremony date will coincide with the opening of the WCC match Topalov – Anand. The Asia Continental will feature a large prize fund of 65 000 USD, of which 50 000 for the open section, and 15 000 for the women.

“Last year was a very good for Philippine chess, especially with GM Wesley So earning a lot of respect from the international community, but we believe the coming year could even be bigger with the country again hosting the Asian Individual Chess Championships,” said NCFP president/chairman Prospero “Butch” Pichay.

Chess in the region is expected to take a big step ahead, as parallel to the event will take place the ASEAN age groups. The Festival, which features region’s brightest boys and girls, will be composed of six groups – U8, U10, U12, U14, U16 and U18.

The 2010 Asia Continental is a qualification for the 2011 World Chess Cup in Khanty Mansiysk. Five spots will be given to players from the event, which last time was won by GM Ganguly.
The women’s section will be qualification for the Women World Chess Championship 2012.

The 2010 Asia Continental Chess rules

Each Federation from FIDE Zones 3.1, 3.2, 3.3, 3.4, 3.5 and 3.6 can enter one official player in the Open and Women’s Division or a total of two (2) players. In addition, each Federation may send extra players rated 2300 and above for the Open, and 2000 and above for Women based on the March 2010 FIDE Rating List. Extra players will be responsible for the payment of their board and lodging at the official hotel. Exceptions for the rating floor may be made by the Continental President on request of national federations.

Players will enter a 11 round Swiss tournament with time control is 90 minutes for the first 40 moves followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game with an addition of 30 seconds per move starting from move one.

The Chief Arbiter, his Deputy and Assistants will be appointed by the Asian Chess Federation President, Sheikh Sultan bin Khalifah Al Nahyan

Opening ceremony is April 21, and the first round is April 22.

Stay tuned for more details!