Hao Wang Claims Bosna Open 2010

Zahar Efimenko and Viktor Bologan share second place

The 40th International Chess Tournament Bosna ended Friday after ten rounds of interesting battles on the chess board.

The winner of the tournament is Hao Wang from China, the top seed and the only player rated higher than 2700 elo points. He scored 23 points according to the system which was applied here in Sarajevo (or 8 with the usual system).

He played for a win in the last round against Zahar Efimenko (UKR), having sacrificed a pawn for the initiative which lasted for some time, but the opponent playing black defended accurately and even managed to reach a rook endgame with an extra pawn. But that was one of the well known theoretical positions and Efimenko didn’t even try to test Wang’s endgame knowledge, thus the game ended in a draw.

According to the Live Top List, Hao Wang is now 17th in the world with the rating of 2735,6.

The second place goes to Zahar Efimenko and the third to Viktor Bologan of Moldova who has the same number of points (22), but half a point less according to the classical scoring system – Efimenko 8,0 and Bologan 7,5. There are five players with 21, respectively also 7,5 points: Artyom Timofeev (RUS), Liviu-Dieter Nisipeanu (ROU), Geetha Narayanan Gopal (IND), Borki Predojević (BiH) and Vladislav Nevednichy (ROU).


Geetha Narayanan Gopal

Notes by GM Miso Cebalo

This year the organizers decided to change the formula and organize a great open tournament with a rich prize fund, instead of the usual closed GM tournament. It seems to me that such an event is more interesting for chess fans not only because they can witness a lot of interesting games on rather high level, but also to take part in the tournament and eventually even meet some of the famous players over the chess board.

I think that the organizers can be satisfied with the number of participants (170) and especially with the number of represented countries (32), a detail which is of great importance for the promotion of the tournament.

Regarding the technical side of the tournament I would like to express my opinion about two novelties. The first is a scoring system which gives 3 points for a victory and 1 point for a draw, which might be acceptable in certain cases, particularly in closed tournaments. The fighting spirit is additionally stimulated since a victory and a loss are worth more (3 points) than two draws (2 points). The problem is that the official pairing program, “Swiss Manager”, does not support such scoring system and creates serious issues to the arbiters.

However, the other novelty which allows each player to call a bye (more than once) during the tournament, which is rather frequent in American tournaments, is in total contradiction to some elementary sport principles. I want to remind how much energy we chess players invest to convince people that our game is (also) a sport.

My advise to the organizers, who deserve all our compliments for a job well done, is to carefully evaluate all pros and cons while preparing for the next year tournament.

Official website

Round 10 top results:

GM Wang Hao CHN 2722 – GM Efimenko Zahar UKR 2677 ½ – ½

GM Nevednichy Vladislav ROU 2560 – GM Timofeev Artyom RUS 2677 ½ – ½

GM Kovacevic Aleksandar SRB 2573 – GM Bologan Viktor MDA 2668 0 – 1

GM Brkic Ante CRO 2573 – GM Mamedov Rauf AZE 2653 ½ – ½

GM Jankovic Alojzije CRO 2559 – GM Nisipeanu Liviu-Dieter ROU 2672 0 – 1

GM Geetha Narayanan Gopal IND 2604 – GM Sokolov Ivan BIH 2654 1 – 0

GM Predojevic Borki BIH 2628 – GM Stefansson Hannes ISL 2588 1 – 0

GM Gustafsson Jan GER 2640 – GM Fier Alexandr BRA 2581 ½ – ½

GM Sandipan Chanda IND 2640 – GM Berczes David HUN 2519 ½ – ½

GM Berg Emanuel SWE 2616 - IM Vuilleumier Alexandre SUI 2352 ½ – ½

IM Grandelius Nils SWE 2476 – GM Mamedov Nidjat AZE 2614 1 – 0

IM Sengupta Deep IND 2508 – GM Bosiocic Marin CRO 2562 ½ – ½

Inants Aghasi ARM 2259 – GM Svetushkin Dmitry MDA 2547 0 – 1

GM Maiorov Nikita BLR 2544 - IM Rapport Richard HUN 2509 0 – 1

IM Huschenbeth Niclas GER 2457 – GM Panarin Mikhail RUS 2521 0 – 1

GM Prohaszka Peter HUN 2510 – GM Tratar Marko SLO 2507 1 – 0

Final standings:

1. GM Wang Hao CHN 2722 – 23

2-3. GM Efimenko Zahar UKR 2677 and GM Bologan Viktor MDA 2668 – 22

4-8. GM Timofeev Artyom RUS 2677, GM Nevednichy Vladislav ROU 2560, GM Geetha Narayanan Gopal IND 2604, GM Nisipeanu Liviu-Dieter ROU 2672 and GM Predojevic Borki BIH 2628 – 21

9-11. GM Kovacevic Aleksandar SRB 2573, GM Brkic Ante CRO 2573 and GM Mamedov Rauf AZE 2653 – 20

12-18. GM Svetushkin Dmitry MDA 2547, GM Jankovic Alojzije CRO 2559, GM Panarin Mikhail RUS 2521, IM Grandelius Nils SWE 2476, GM Prohaszka Peter HUN 2510, IM Rapport Richard HUN 2509 and IM Pruijssers Roeland NED 2443 – 19

19-33. GM Gustafsson Jan GER 2640, GM Berczes David HUN 2519, GM Sokolov Ivan BIH 2654, GM Sandipan Chanda IND 2640, GM Solak Dragan SRB 2547, GM Stefansson Hannes ISL 2588, GM Fier Alexandr BRA 2581, GM Lenic Luka SLO 2592, IM Brandenburg Daan NED 2503, WGM Kosintseva Nadezhda RUS 2553, GM Berg Emanuel SWE 2616, IM Rukavina Josip CRO 2397, IM Vuilleumier Alexandre SUI 2352, GM Saric Ivan CRO 2580 and IM Arapovic Vitomir BIH 2366 – 18 etc