Eltaj Safarli Wins Mikhail Chigorin Memorial

28th October – 5th November in St. Petersburg, Russia

The 17th Mikhail Chigorin Memorial has just concluded in St. Petersburg, Russia. More than hundred titled players participated in the 9-round open tournament which is also a stage of Cup Russia circuit. The playing venue was Moskva” hotel (2 Al. Nevsky square).

Thanks to the draws on top nine tables in the last round, Azerbaijan champion Eltaj Safarli maintained the leading margin acquired in round seven and celebrated a clear first place in the tournament.

International Masters Vladimir Fedoseev, Anton Demchenko and Vasily Papin have earned GM norms.

Eltaj Safarli

Eltaj Safarli

GM Sergei Yudin earlier won the Chigorin Memorial Rapid. Chessdom journalist IM Alexander Ipatov conducted numerous interviews, including WGM Irina Sudakova, GM Oleksandr Sulypa and GM Dariusz Swiercz, and IM Mikhail Mozharov

Photo gallery / Official website

Round 9 top results:

GM Safarli Eltaj AZE 2607 - GM Areshchenko Alexander UKR 2664 ½-½

GM Sokolov Ivan BIH 2641 - GM Andreikin Dmitry RUS 2669 ½-½

GM Sakaev Konstantin RUS 2607 - GM Dreev Alexey RUS 2649 ½-½

GM Khismatullin Denis RUS 2654 - IM Fedoseev Vladimir RUS 2477 ½-½

GM Stefansson Hannes ISL 2585 - GM Smirin Ilia ISR 2657 ½-½

GM Zhigalko Sergei BLR 2640 - GM Burmakin Vladimir RUS 2593 ½-½

GM Savchenko Boris RUS 2627 - IM Geller Jakov RUS 2544 ½-½

GM Khairullin Ildar RUS 2620 - IM Papin Vasily RUS 2534 ½-½

GM Matlakov Maxim RUS 2613 - IM Demchenko Anton RUS 2529 ½-½

GM Yemelin Vasily RUS 2571 - GM Korobov Anton UKR 2670 1-0

GM Grachev Boris RUS 2668 - GM Zherebukh Yaroslav UKR 2563 1-0

Final standings:

1. GM Safarli Eltaj AZE 2607 – 7.5

2-7. GM Sokolov Ivan BIH 2641, GM Areshchenko Alexander UKR 2664, GM Andreikin Dmitry RUS 2669, GM Dreev Alexey RUS 2649, GM Sakaev Konstantin RUS 2607 and IM Fedoseev Vladimir RUS 2477 – 7.0

8-25. GM Smirin Ilia ISR 2657, GM Zhigalko Sergei BLR 2640, GM Grachev Boris RUS 2668, GM Andriasian Zaven ARM 2579, GM Savchenko Boris RUS 2627, GM Khairullin Ildar RUS 2620, GM Chadaev Nikolai RUS 2574, GM Khismatullin Denis RUS 2654, IM Demchenko Anton RUS 2529, IM Papin Vasily RUS 2534, GM Volkov Sergey RUS 2595, GM Burmakin Vladimir RUS 2593, GM Stefansson Hannes ISL 2585, GM Yemelin Vasily RUS 2571, GM Swiercz Dariusz POL 2507, IM Geller Jakov RUS 2544 and GM Matlakov Maxim RUS 2613 and GM Kryakvin Dmitry RUS 2591 – 6.5 etc (275 players)