India National Premier Chess Championship

IM Lalith beat GM Deepan, three share lead after round 10

New Delhi (19 Dec 2010): International Master M R Lalith Babu of Andhra Pradesh defeated Grandmaster Deepan Chakkravarthy in the tenth round to share the lead with overnight joint leaders Praveen Thipsay and Parimarjan Negi in the ongoing REC National Premier Chess Championship here at K R Mangalam World School on Sunday.

The top board battle between two generation Grandmasters Thipsay and Negi in Scheveningen variation of Sicilian defence game ended without decisive in 27 moves while playing white side of semi-slav opening, Laith maneuvered his pieces to good effect in the middle game to garner full point against his Grandmaster rival in 48 moves.

world cup Negi

Parimarjan Negi

A pack of five players including top seed G N Gopal are now occupying the joint second spot position with six and half points. Playing with white pieces in closed Ruy Lopez opening, Gopal overcame Grandmaster R R Laxman in 41 moves while B Adhiban and Arun Prasad joined the second spot after settling for half point in a long battle that lasted 76 moves of Rubinstein variation of Nimzo-Indian Defence.

Former national champion Abhijit Kunte and national challenger champion M R Venkatesh raise their tally to six and half points after beating S Kidambi and G A Stany respectively in the tenth round.

In other important encounters in the tenth round, third seed Grandmaster Deep Sengupta got better off Grandmaster Neelotpal Das while Grandmaster Tejas Bakre signed the peace treaty with Vidit Gujarathi. In a surprising result, Tamilnadu youngster Navin Kanna stunned seasoned International Master P Konguvel.

Navin Kanna

Navin Kanna, who stunned P Konguvel

India IM Lalith Babu M R

IM Lalith Babu

City based Vaibhav Suri defeated former world junior champion Soumya Swaminathan while Rahul Sangma settled for half point against Railways International Master Saptarshi Roy.

In the eleventh round tomorrow, Negi takes on Lalith Babu and Thipsay paired against Arun Prasad with light colours while Gopal and Kunte will battle it out against Venkatesh and Adhiban respectively with dark colours.

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018