India National Premier Chess Championship R11

Parimarjan Negi defeats M R Lalith Babu, regains sole lead

New Delhi (20 Dec 2010): Grandmaster Parimarjan Negi once again moved to the sole lead in the REC National Premier Chess Championship after defeating overnight joint leader International Master M R Lalith Babu of Andhra Pradesh in the eleventh round here at K R Mangalam World School, GK-II on Monday.

Playing with white pieces in Classical Caro-Kann defence game, Negi displayed solid attacking game and sacrificed his bishop on twenty ninth move to good effect to secure full point after ten more moves. Other overnight joint leader veteran Grandmaster Praveen Thipsay settled for half point against Grandmaster S Arun Prasad of PSPB. Arun employed modern line of Caro-Kann defence from black side against his experienced rival and signed the peace treaty after thirty nine moves.

world cup Negi

Parimarjan Negi

Thipsay along with G N Gopal are now sharing the joint second spot with a drift of half point from the sole leader. In the eleventh round encounter top seed Gopal beat national challenger champion International Master M R Venkatesh of PSPB with black pieces.

In other important matches in the eleventh round, defending champion Grandmaster B Adhiban and Grandmaster Abhijit Kunte settled for half point while fifth seed Grandmaster Tejas Bakre of Air India got better of third seed Deep Sengupta of West Bengal and young Vidit Gujarathi defeated Grandmaster R R Laxman of Railways.

India Praveen Thipsay

GM Praveen Thipsay

Former World Under-16 champion S P Sethurman lost his match against team mate M Shyam Sundar and Grandmaster Deepan Chakkravarthy beat International Master Vikramaditya Kamble.

It was a mixed day for the Delhi players as Vaibhav Suri beat International Master M S Thejkumar while Rahul Sangma lost his match against Arjun Tiwari. In the penultimate round tomorrow, Negi, Gopal and Thipsay paired against Arun Prasad, Abhijit Kunte and Vidit Gujrathi respectively with black pieces.

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018