India National Premier Chess Championship

Sethuraman takes sole lead, Gopal and Negi held in round 4

New Delhi (12 Dec 2010): International Master S P Sethuraman defeated overnight joint leader Grandmaster B Adhiban in the fourth round to take the sole lead with three and half points in the REC National Premier Chess Championhip here at K R Mangalam World School, GK-II on Sunday.

Sethuramn was a class act on Sunday afternoon with his white pieces against Adhiban in a Queen’s Indian defence game. Sethu put enormous pressure on the King side of his Grandmaster rival in the middle game to post an emphatic victory in 36 moves. Meanwhile other overnight leaders, top seed Grandmaster G N Gopal and second seed Parimarjan Negi satisfied with half point against Grandmaster S Kidambi and International Master M R Venkatesh respectively.

India IM Sethuraman

IM Sethuraman in deep thought

India GM Gopal G N

Grandmaster G N Gopal

Playing black side of exchange variation in Grunfeld Defence, Gopal agreed to split the point against his team mate rival in 37 moves. Playing with white pieces in Sicilian defence, Negi had advantage in the opening stages of the game but failed to covert the advantage to a decisive result as national challenger champion Venkatesh stood firm to make perpetual check with his queen in the end to secure a creditable half point in 32 moves.

In other fourth round battles, Grandmasters Tejas Bakre, Abhijit Kunte and Deepan Chakkravarthy failed to produce decisive results in their favour and settled for half point against Tamilnadu International Masters Shyam Sundar, Shyam Nikil and Sudhakar Babu respectively. While third seed Grandmaster Deep Sengupta forced to sign the peace treaty against Women Grandmaster Padmini Rout after 74 moves. Karnataka youngster G A Stany held International Master Thejkumar to a creditable draw while Rajesh VAV stunned International Master Suvrajit Saha of Railways in the fourth round encounters.

It was disappointing day for the city players as International Master Vaibhav Suri suffered defeat from the hands of his Maharashtra counter part Vidit Gujarthi while G B Joshi had the same fate against International Master M R Lalith Babu. Moreover International Master Rahul Sangma failed to turn up for the round on time as he reached two minutes after the scheduled time of the round resulted a walkover to his Andhra rival Matta Vinay Kumar under ‘Zero Tolerance’ rule.

India IM Rahul Sangma

IM Rahul Sangma, who failed to turn up for the round in time

India GM Kidambi S

GM Kidambi S

India IM Venkatesh M R

IM Venkatesh M R

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018