India National Premier Chess Championship

Negi beats Kidambi, joins Sethuraman at the top

New Delhi (14 Dec 2010): World second youngest ever Grandmaster Parimarjan Negi has taken the joint lead along with International Master Sethuraman after a resounding victory over Grandmaster Sundararajan Kidambi in the sixth round of the ongoing REC National Premier Chess Championship here at K R Mangalam World School, GK-II on Tuesday.

Playing with white pieces in Modern Line of Caro-Kann defence game, Negi displayed great attacking skills in the middle game to outwit his rival in 36 moves. Meanwhile playing white side of Nimzo-Indian Classical variation, overnight sole leader S P Sethuraman settled for half point after a marathon match that lasted 92 moves against Grandmaster R R Laxman of Railways. This result helped Negi to catch up with the leader in this Rs. 5.35 lakh prize money event.

India GM Parimarjan Negi

GM Parimarjan Negi

In other important encounters in the sixth round, top seed G N Gopal once again failed to get a decisive result in his favour and satisfied with half point against Vidit Gujarathi of Maharashtra. This was the fourth consecutive draw for the top seed Grandmaster in this event.

Playing with black pieces in Catalan Opening Grandmaster B Adhiban and Andhra International Master M R Lalith Babu split the point after mandatory 25 moves while National Challenger Champion M R Venkatesh signed the peace treaty with his team mate International Master P Konguvel. With four points in the kitty, seven players including Veteran Grandmaster Praveen Thipsay, who beat G A Stany in the sixth round battle, are now sharing the joint second spot.

India GM R R Laxman

GM R R Laxman

City youngster Vaibhav Suri held Grandmaster S Arun Prasad while G B Joshi and Rahul Sangma drew their sixth round games against Padmini Rout and J Ramakrishna respectively.

In the seventh round tomorrow, Negi plays with Sethuraman Negi with black pieces while Gopal, Adhiban, Venkatesh and Laxaman paired against Laith Babu, Praveen Thipsay, Vidit Gujrathi and M S Thejkumar respectively with white pieces.

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018