14th Hogeschool Zeeland Chess Tournament

GM Krishnan Sasikiran and IM Thomas Henrichs joint winners

The 14th Hogeschool Zeeland Chess Tournament was held over nine rounds on 7-14th August in Vlissingen, The Netherlands. The tournament was organised by the Stichting Schaak Walcheren.

The maximum number of 250 participants had been reached days before the tournament’s opening round. Indian Grandmaster Krishnan Sasikiran headed the field as top seed, followed by GM Sergey Fedorchuk and GM Erwin L’ami, both rated above 2600 elo.

Sasikiran and IM Thomas Henrichs won the tournament by collecting 7.5 points each, after Henrichs stunned the earlier co-leader L’ami with black pieces in the last round. IM Ilja Zaragatski held Sasikiran to a draw on the top table and secured a Grandmaster norm.

Sasikiran square

Grandmaster Krishnan Sasikiran

Shared third with 7.0 points each are IM Ilja Zaragatski, GM Erwin L’Ami, GM Sergey Fedorchuk, IM Roeland Pruijssers and IM Daan Brandenburg. Official website

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018