2nd SP Masters Series in Sao Paulo

GM Krikor Sevag Mekhitarian wins the tournament after exciting finish

The 2nd blitz tournament in the SP Masters Series was held Tuesday, 10th May, at the Associação Brasileira “A Hebraica” in Sao Paulo, Brazil. Twelve players took part in the event with the time control 3min+2sec.

GM Krikor Sevag Mekhitarian was the overall winner after defeating GM Gilberto Milos Jr. in the armageddon game in the final match. After the regular two games the result was equal 1-1. GM Mekhitarian described the tournament as “tense but fun”.

In the match for the third place, GM Felipe El Debs defeated GM-elect Jose Fernando Cubas with 2-0. By the same score, the winner of the first SP Masters GM Alexandr Fier beat GM Everaldo Matsuura, taking the fifth. Also by 2-0, FM Luiz Guilherme Abdalla beat the national champion GM Giovanni Vescovi in the fight for the seventh place.

GM-elect Cubas is a foreign player but long-time resident of Sao Paulo and in this capacity he was invited to replace IM Jefferson Pelikian. CM Armen Proudian, Jefferson Oliveira and Diogo Nakazawa de Lima entered the SP Masters as winners of the open qualifying tournament, while Max Edward Cohn was invited as the representative of the Herbaica.

Full results on the official website

Games in PGN / Videos (split game-by-game)

Krikor Sevag Mekhitarian 3

GM Krikor Sevag Mekhitarian

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018