1st Chinese Women Chess Masters Tournament

World Champion Yifan Hou takes the first place with a margin

The 1st Chinese Women Chess Masters Tournament was held from 16th April to 26th April 2011 in Wuxi, Jiangsu, China. Ten players competed in the round robin tournament. This competition concludes a strenuous row of five events that were played in China within month and a half – Chinese Players Selection, Zonal Championships, Chinese League and 2011 China Chess Championships.

World Champion Yifan Hou convincingly won the tournament by collecting seven points and leaving the nearest followers full point behind. Shen Yang and Ju Wenjun share the second place with 6.0 points each.

Newly crowned national champion WGM Zhang Xiaowen and her main adversary in the fight for the title, GM Zhao Xue, must have caught fatigue and performed poorly, taking 8th and 10th place respectively.

China Women Hou Yifan

Hou Yifan

China Women Shen Yang

Shen Yang

China Women Ju Wenjun

Ju Wenjun

China Women group

Photos courtesy of Wang Yan

Final standings:

1. GM Hou Yifan 2602 – 7.0

2-3. WGM Shen Yang 2443 and WGM Ju Wenjun 2519 – 6.0

4-5. WGM Huang Qian 2394 and IM Wang Yu A 2398 – 4.5

6-7. WGM Ding Yixin 2376 and WGM Gu Xiaobing 2369 – 4.0

8. WGM Zhang Xiaowen 2344 – 3.5

9. WGM Tan Zhongyi 2428 – 3.0

10. GM Zhao Xue 2495 – 2.5

More information on Gujuan Tzu’s page

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018