9th Gyorgy Marx Memorial

Radoslaw Wojtaszek and Alina Kashlinskaya win the main events

The 9th Gyorgy Marx Memorial was played on 16th-27th June 2011, in Paks, Hungary. The Memorial consisted of seven tournaments – GM, WGM, Open A, Open B, Rapid, Blitz and U14 event.

The aim of the tournaments was to commemorate György Marx, professor of physics, organize a top level tournament for the Hungarian chess friends, and provide an opportunity for the most talented young local Grandmasters to acquire experience.

Main patron of the tournament was Mr. István Hamvas, the General Director of Nuclear Power Plant Ltd. Paks.

Paks 1

The group photo of the players

After going through the rough period in the last two month where he lost 38 elo points, Poland’s top player and Vishy Anand’s second GM Radoslaw Wojtaszek returned to the winning paths to convincingly claim the main tournament with 8.0/10 points and an impressive 2892 elo performance.

WGM Alina Kashlinskaya of Russia, although seeded only 4th in the WGM tournament, won the competition by collecting 6.5/10 points, half a point clear of Ildiko Madl and Lilit Mkrtchian.

Paks 4

Winners – Radoslaw Wojtaszek and Alina Kashlinskaya

GM Tournament final standings:

1. Wojtaszek Radoslaw POL 2721 – 8.0

2-3. Smirin Ilia ISR 2661 and Berkes Ferenc HUN 2693 – 6.5

4-5. Salgado Lopez Ivan ESP 2623 and Bologan Viktor MDA 2678 – 3.5

6. Acs Peter HUN 2606 – 2.0

WGM Tournament final standings:

1. WGM Kashlinskaya Alina RUS 2360 – 6.5

2-3. IM Madl Ildiko HUN 2405 and IM Mkrtchian Lilit ARM 2468 – 6.0

4. WGM Rudolf Anna HUN 2355 – 5.0

5. WFM Dudas Eszter HUN 2194 – 3.5

6. WGM Sharevich Anna BLR 2378 – 3.0

GM Czebe Attila HUN 2473 won the Open A tournament with 6.0/7 and the Rapid tournament with 5.5/7. Benedeczky Lehel claimed the U14 tournament with a perfect 7/7 score. Open B had Áts László György 2079, WIM Varga Klára 2159, Szabó Richárd 2187 and Forster Tamás 2063 sharing the first place with 5.5 points each.

Paks 3

Lilit Mkrtchian

Paks 5

Ivan Salgado Lopez

Thanks to Laszlo Rudolf

Official website

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018