Women’s Grand Prix 2011-2012 in Rostov

12 players round robin on 1-15th August

FIDE announces the Women’s Grand Prix 2011-2012 which will give qualification to the Women’s World Championship match 2013. The schedule of the six events is the following:

1-15 August 2011, Rostov, Russia

6-20 September 2011, Shenzhen, China

8-23 October 2011, Nalchik, Russia

30 May – 13 June 2012, Kazan, Russia

16-30 July 2012, Jermuk, Armenia

16-30 November 2012, Istanbul, Turkey

In total 18 players will participate – 10 qualifiers as per regulations, 6 nominees from the organisers of each tournament and 2 nominees of the FIDE President.

The list of players for the 1st tournament of the Women’s Grand Prix 2011-2012 in Rostov, Russia (1-15 August 2011), has been announced:

Hou Yifan (CHN)

Humpy Koneru (IND)

Nadezhda Kosintseva (RUS)

Tatiana Kosintseva (RUS)

Anna Muzychuk (SLO)

Katrina Lahno (UKR)

Alexandra Kosteniuk (RUS)

Antoaneta Stefanova (BUL)

Elina Danielian (ARM)

Alisa Galliamova (RUS)

Luan Rufei (CHN)

Ekaterina Kovalevskaya (RUS)

The total prize fund of the tournament is 40,000 euros and the full regulations of the Women’s Grand Prix 2011-2012 are published here.

Winner of the previous Grand Prix was GM Humpy Koneru who edged GM Nana Dzagnidze in a dramatic finish of the GP event in Doha. Koneru earned the right to challenge the World Champion Hou Yifan to a match.



Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018