Parsvnath Commonwealth Chess Championship 2010

Pavel Maletin maintains sole lead after round 10

New Delhi (17th May 2010): Second seed Grandmaster Parimarjan Negi suffered huge set back to his title contention in the Parsvnath Commonwealth Chess Championship as he lost second consecutive game, this time from the hands of Argentinian Grandmaster Pablo Lafuente in the penultimate round.

Playing black pieces, Lafuente took only 28 moves in French Defence to outwit his Indian rival. Meanwhile, overnight sole leader Grandmaster Maletin Pavel of Russia maintained his sole lead after settling for half point in 21 moves by repetition moves with fellow Russian Dmitry Bocharov.

A pack of five players including former World Junior Champion Abhijit Gupta, Grandmaster RR Laxman and International Master Lalith Babu are on joint second spot with eight points. Abhijeet and Lalith beat Ashwin Jayaram and Girish A Koushik in the tenth round while Laxman got better off Matta Vinay Kumar.

The day turned out to a happy day for the norm seekers as four Indian players achieved International Master Norms. Gurpreet Pal Singh and S Nitin achieved their first International Master Norms by settling for half point against Sahaj Grover and Dmitry Kokarev while Prasanna Rao hold former National Champion Grandmaster Abhijit Kunte to get his third International Master Norm. The norm achiever of the day was former World Under-12 gold medalist Sayantan Das. He beat seasoned campaigner BS Shivananda in the tenth round to attain the feat.


GM Pablo Lafuente, photo by Georgios Souleidis

In the final round tomorrow, Maletin takes on Lalith Babu while Abhijeet Gupta and Laxman paired with Dmitry Bocharov and Pablo Lafuente respectively.

Round 10 standings:

1. GM Maletin Pavel RUS 2584 – 8.5

2-6. GM Gupta Abhijeet IND 2570, GM Bocharov Dmitry RUS 2592, GM Laxman R R IND 2476, IM Lalith Babu M R IND 2493 and GM Lafuente Pablo ARG 2587 – 8.0

7-11. GM Dreev Alexey RUS 2655, GM Negi Parimarjan IND 2636, GM Bakre Tejas IND 2483, FM Prasanna Rao IND 2309 and GM Kunte Abhijit IND 2523 – 7.5

12-37. GM Kravtsiv Martyn UKR 2546, IM Ashwin Jayaram IND 2457, GM Kokarev Dmitry RUS 2612, FM Nitin S IND 2363, GM Safarli Eltaj AZE 2610, IM Debashis Das IND 2400, GM Iuldachev Saidali UZB 2511, FM Sai Krishna G V IND 2282, Singh Gurpreet Pal IND 2287, IM Priyadharshan K IND 2362, Ramnath Bhuvanesh R IND 2350, GM Hossain Enamul BAN 2499, IM Grover Sahaj IND 2416, IM Tania Sachdev IND 2398, IM Konguvel Ponnuswamy IND 2412, IM Suvrajit Saha IND 2380, IM Narayanan Srinath IND 2393, Anwesh Upadhyaya IND 2419, FM Abu Sufian Shakil BAN 2305, Matta Vinay Kumar IND 2256, GM Khusnutdinov Rustam KAZ 2525, IM Shyam Sundar M IND 2372, Swayams Mishra IND 2397, FM Das Sayantan IND 2250, FM Girish A Koushik IND 2276 and IM Lodhi Mahmood PAK 2377 – 7.0 etc

Round 11 top pairings:

GM Maletin Pavel RUS 2584 - IM Lalith Babu M R IND 2493

GM Gupta Abhijeet IND 2570 - GM Bocharov Dmitry RUS 2592

GM Lafuente Pablo ARG 2587 - GM Laxman R R IND 2476

GM Kunte Abhijit IND 2523 - GM Dreev Alexey RUS 2655

GM Bakre Tejas IND 2483 - GM Negi Parimarjan IND 2636

GM Safarli Eltaj AZE 2610 - FM Prasanna Rao IND 2309

IM Narayanan Srinath IND 2393 - GM Kokarev Dmitry RUS 2612

GM Kravtsiv Martyn UKR 2546 - IM Lodhi Mahmood PAK 2377

GM Khusnutdinov Rustam KAZ 2525 - IM Shyam Sundar M IND 2372

GM Iuldachev Saidali UZB 2511 - Singh Gurpreet Pal IND 2287

IM Suvrajit Saha IND 2380 - GM Hossain Enamul BAN 2499

Ramnath Bhuvanesh R IND 2350 - IM Ashwin Jayaram IND 2457

FM Nitin S IND 2363 - Anwesh Upadhyaya IND 2419

IM Grover Sahaj IND 2416 - IM Priyadharshan K IND 2362

IM Konguvel Ponnuswamy IND 2412 - FM Das Sayantan IND 2250

IM Debashis Das IND 2400 - FM Abu Sufian Shakil BAN 2305

FM Sai Krishna G V IND 2282 - IM Tania Sachdev IND 2398

FM Girish A Koushik IND 2276 - Swayams Mishra IND 2397

Matta Vinay Kumar IND 2256 - IM Adhiban B IND 2510

GM Kovalyov Anton ARG 2615 - Vaibhav Suri IND 2347

GM Sriram Jha IND 2507 - IM Koshy Varugeese IND 2310

Bitan Banerjee IND 2311 - GM Dzhumaev Marat UZB 2495

FM Agaragimov Djakhangir AZE 2304 – IM Harika Dronavalli IND 2491

For more details and live games please visit our website

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018