Parsvnath Commonwealth Chess Championship 2010

Vaibhav Suri and Prince Bajaj bringing cheers to home crowd

New Delhi (11th May, 2010): Delhi youngsters Vaibhav Suri and Prince Bajaj brought cheers to home crowd by holding fourth seed Russian Grandmaster Dmitry Kokarev and former national champion Abhijit Kunte in the third round of the ongoing Parsvnath Commonwealth Chess Championship here at Clarks Inn, Pacific Mall, NCR on Tuesday. Playing with black pieces in Sicilian Defence, Kokarev agreed to sign the peace treaty with his younger rival in 39 moves while Prince Bajaj forced Kunte to split the point after 45 moves.

Meanwhile top seed Alexey Dreev of Russia had another easy day in the office as he outwitted Ramnath Bhuvanesh in the third round outing while his Russian counterparts Dmitry Bocharov and Pavel Maletin beat GA Stany and Women Grandmaster Nisha Mohota respectively.

In other surprising results in the third round, Vikramjit Singh held third seed GM Anton Kovalyov of Argentina while International Master Anup Deshmukh held Kazak Grandmaster Rustam Khusnutidionov and International Master MR Lalith Babu satisfied with half point against G B Joshi.

Eltaj Safarli

GM Eltaj Safarli

Abhijit Kunte

GM Abhijit Kunte

Dmitry Kokarev

GM Dmitry Kokarev

21 players including former world junior champion Grandmaster Abhijeet Gupta, Grandmasters Sriram Jha, Tejas Bakre, International Masters Tania Sachdev, D Harika are now leading the table with perfect scores. Abhijeet and Jha beat Bangladesh Fide Masters Ahmed Minazuddin and Mehadi Hasan respectively. Tania and Harika got better off Puneet Jaiswal and Prasenjit Dutta.

Earlier in the second round, Nagpur based Gurpreet Singh Maras held Grandmaster Anton Kovalyov of Argentina to a crediable draw while Azerbaijan Grandmaster Eltaj Safarli had the same fate against Vikramjit Singh. Delhi youngsters Hemant Sharma and Prince Bajaj held Grandmaster Abhijit Kunte and International Master B Adhiban respectively.

The players with perfect score after three rounds are: GM Dreev Alexey RUS 2655, GM Bocharov Dmitry RUS 2592, GM Maletin Pavel RUS 2584, GM Gupta Abhijeet IND 2570, GM Kravtsiv Martyn UKR 2546, GM Sriram Jha IND 2507, GM Hossain Enamul BAN 2499, IM Harika Dronavalli IND 2491, GM Bakre Tejas IND 2483, IM Ashwin Jayaram IND 2457 IM Swapnil S Dhopade IND 2457, IM Venkatesh M R IND 2452, IM Debashis Das IND 2400, IM Tania Sachdev IND 2398, IM Rathnakaran K IND 2397, FM Nitin S IND 2363, Kathmale Sameer IND 2140, GM Dzhumaev Marat UZB 2495, IM Narayanan Srinath IND 2393, FM Shyam Nikil P IND 2385 and IM Shyam Sundar M IND 2372.

Round 4 top pairings:

IM Swapnil S Dhopade IND 2457 - GM Dreev Alexey RUS 2655

GM Bocharov Dmitry RUS 2592 - IM Ashwin Jayaram IND 2457

GM Maletin Pavel RUS 2584 - IM Debashis Das IND 2400

IM Venkatesh M R IND 2452 - GM Gupta Abhijeet IND 2570

GM Kravtsiv Martyn UKR 2546 - IM Rathnakaran K IND 2397

IM Tania Sachdev IND 2398 - GM Sriram Jha IND 2507

GM Hossain Enamul BAN 2499 - IM Narayanan Srinath IND 2393

FM Shyam Nikil P IND 2385 - GM Dzhumaev Marat UZB 2495

IM Shyam Sundar M IND 2372 - IM Harika Dronavalli IND 2491

GM Bakre Tejas IND 2483 - FM Nitin S IND 2363

Kathmale Sameer IND 2140 - GM Safarli Eltaj AZE 2610

GM Negi Parimarjan IND 2636 - WGM Meenakshi Subbaraman IND 2348

GM Kokarev Dmitry RUS 2612 - Abhishek Das IND 2331

IM Priyadharshan K IND 2362 - GM Lafuente Pablo ARG 2587

GM Khusnutdinov Rustam KAZ 2525 - Vaibhav Suri IND 2347

WIM Padmini Rout IND 2319 - GM Iuldachev Saidali UZB 2511

For more details and live games please visit our website

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018