Parsvnath Commonwealth Chess Championship 2010

Indian youngsters on song

New Delhi (12th May, 2010): Following the footsteps of World Champion Viswanathan Anand, Indian youngsters proved too hot for foreign Grandmasters in the ongoing Parsvnath Commonwealth Chess Championship here at Clarks Inn, Pacific Mall, NCR. In the fourth round matches, Grandmasters Enamul Hossain of Bangladesh, Pablo Lafuente of Argentina, Ruslan Pogorelov of Ukraine tasted defeats from the hands of Indian youngsters Narayanan Srinath, K Priyadharshan and Karma Pandya respectively.

Meanwhile Russian Grandmasters Alexey Dreev, Dmitry Bocharov and Maletin Pavel maintained their winning momentum and leading the table along with Sriram Jha, Harika and N Srinath with clean slate. Dreev beat Swapnil Dhopade while Bochrov and Maletin got better off Debashis Das. Jha beat his city mate Tania Sachdev and Harika outwitted fellow Indian International Master S Shyam Sundar. The other leader in the point table is Grandmaster Kravtisv Martyn of Ukraine, who beat International Master K Rathnakaran in fourth round encounter.


Harika Dronavalli

In other fourth round battles, Shyam Nikil and S Nitin forced Grandmaster Marat Dzhumaev of Uzbekistan and Tejas Bakre to split the points while former world junior champion Grandmaster Abhijeet Gupta satisfied with half point against MR Venkatesh.

Fifth round of the event is on at the time of report and before the start, players and officials celebrated Anand’s fourth world title achievement by cutting the cake and distribution of sweets.

Tania Sachdev sq

Tania Sachdev

Round 4 standings:

1-7. GM Dreev Alexey RUS 2655, GM Bocharov Dmitry RUS 2592, GM Maletin Pavel RUS 2584, GM Kravtsiv Martyn UKR 2546, IM Harika Dronavalli IND 2491, IM Narayanan Srinath IND 2393 and GM Sriram Jha IND 2507 – 4.0

8-25. GM Gupta Abhijeet IND 2570, GM Dzhumaev Marat UZB 2495, IM Venkatesh M R IND 2452, FM Shyam Nikil P IND 2385, GM Khusnutdinov Rustam KAZ 2525, GM Bakre Tejas IND 2483, GM Negi Parimarjan IND 2636, GM Kokarev Dmitry RUS 2612, GM Safarli Eltaj AZE 2610, IM Lalith Babu M R IND 2493, FM Nitin S IND 2363, Shivananda B S IND 2387, GM Iuldachev Saidali UZB 2511, IM Adhiban B IND 2510, Anwesh Upadhyaya IND 2419, IM Konguvel Ponnuswamy IND 2412, Swayams Mishra IND 2397 and IM Priyadharshan K IND 2362 – 3.5 etc

Round 5 top pairings:

GM Dreev Alexey RUS 2655 - GM Kravtsiv Martyn UKR 2546

GM Sriram Jha IND 2507 - GM Bocharov Dmitry RUS 2592

IM Harika Dronavalli IND 2491 - GM Maletin Pavel RUS 2584

IM Narayanan Srinath IND 2393 - GM Negi Parimarjan IND 2636

GM Bakre Tejas IND 2483 - GM Kokarev Dmitry RUS 2612

GM Safarli Eltaj AZE 2610 - IM Venkatesh M R IND 2452

GM Gupta Abhijeet IND 2570 - Anwesh Upadhyaya IND 2419

IM Konguvel Ponnuswamy IND 2412 - GM Khusnutdinov Rustam KAZ 2525

GM Iuldachev Saidali UZB 2511 - Swayams Mishra IND 2397

Shivananda B S IND 2387 - IM Adhiban B IND 2510

GM Dzhumaev Marat UZB 2495 - IM Priyadharshan K IND 2362

FM Nitin S IND 2363 - IM Lalith Babu M R IND 2493

GM Kunte Abhijit IND 2523 - FM Shyam Nikil P IND 2385

FM De Villiers Charles RSA 2284 - GM Kovalyov Anton ARG 2615

FM Prasenjit Datta IND 2283 - GM Hossain Enamul BAN 2499

For more details and live games please visit our website

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018