World Blitz Chess Championship 2009

Anand, Aronian, Carlsen, and Kramnik top seeded

Carlsen square

The World Blitz Chess Championship 2009 will take place after the Tal Memorial, completing a series of very strong events in Russia for this year. The playing site is Moscow, and the blitz championship dates are 16-18.11.2009.

The field includes 22 grandmasters. Top seeded is the World Champion Viswanathan Anand, who will be joined by two other ex world champions – Vladimir Kramnik and Anatoly Karpov. The young talents Carlsen, Gashimov, and Mamedyarov will try to edge out the experience. The Moscow blitz champion Grischuk and his runner ups Karjakin and Morozevich will be there as well.

Defending champion Leinier Dominguez Perez and the World Women Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk are among the invited players.

All live games will be at the Chessdom live arena.

Here is the full list of participants:

1. Viswanathan Anand

2. Levon Aronian

3. Magnus Carlsen

4. Vladimir Kramnik

5. Peter Leko

6. Boris Gelfand

7. Vassily Ivanchuk (world blitz champion 2007)

8. Alexander Morozevich

9. Peter Svidler

10. Ruslan Ponomariov

(qualificants from Aeroflot blitz)

11. Sergey Karjakin

12. Vugar Gashimov

13. Shakhriyar Mamedyarov

14. Evgeny Bareev

15. Vladislav Tkachiev

16. Arkadij Naiditsch

(invited by organizers)

17. Anatoly Karpov

18. Alexander Grischuk – world blitz champion for 2006

19. Alexandra Kosteniuk – present world women chess champion

20. Leinier Dominguez Perez – present world blitz champion
21. Judit Polgar
22. Dmitry Jakovenko

More blitz and rapid events in 2009

Kasparov – Karpov match in Valencia

Anand – Karpov match in France

Kasparov – Karpov match in Paris